close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Village Clerk

Contact Info

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Phone:(607) 687-3555
Fax:(607) 687-1787


22 Elm Street
Owego, NY 13827
United States

See map: Google Maps

The Village Clerk is subject to the direction and control of the Mayor.  However, state law imposes numerous responsibilities upon the clerk, which the clerk has an independent responsibility to perform.

Most of the village clerk’s duties are:

Village Minutes
Oath of Office
Local Legislation
Order to Pay Claims
Transmitting Funds
Maintaining postings
Custody & Production of Books and Records
Filing, publishing notices relating to resolutions, local laws, public meetings, open meetings.
Serving as point of contact for citizens with questions about the village.
Acting as liaison between citizens and the village board of trustees

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Rod Marchewka Village Clerk/Treasurer (607) 687-3555
Cindy Motter Deputy Clerk (607) 687-1710
Kim Norton Deputy Clerk (607) 687-1710

Frequently Asked Questions


Employment Applications are also available for pick up at:

178 Main Street, Owego, NY 13827
20 Elm Street, Owego, NY 13827
Requests related to reports by the Owego Fire Department, EMTs, or Owego Police Department, or Code Enforcement Department require a FOIL (Freedom of Information Letter) FOIL REQUEST 

After completing the Foil Request, you can mail it to 178 Main Street, Owego, NY 13827 or fax it to 607-687-1787.
The Village of Owego Board of Trustee's meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month (unless stated otherwise due to weather or holidays that fall on Mondays) at 7:00 p.m. in the DPW Annex at 20 Elm Street, Owego, New York.

Contact the Town of Owego Dog Control Officer at:

687-0123, Dept 5
  • DMV 687-8250
  • Family Court 687-1730
  • Board of Elections 687-8261
  • Tioga County Chamber of Commerce 687-2020
  • NYS Health Department 687-8600
  • NYS DOT 687-3730
  • NYS Police (Owego Division) 687-3961
  • School Taxes 687-6317
  • Tioga County Sheriff 687-1010
  • Social Services 687-8300
  • Town Assessor 687-0123
  • Town Clerk 687-2194
  • County Clerk 687-8660
  • County Treasurer 687-8670
  • USPS (Lake Street) 687-0661
  • United Water of Owego 687-1491

Tax Searches should be directed to the Village Clerk at 178 Main Street, Owego, NY 13827. There is a $10 fee per request and you need to enclose a stamped self-addressed envelope.

Tax Search Certificate

Contact Julie Brown at 585-287-5777.